“Coffee And Men”

I’m getting married in 30 days. I bet you’re thinking, “Waa waa waa. So are everyone else and their brother. I’m not reading any further.”

            Well, now that I’ve publicly made fun of you, you must keep reading.

I’m getting married in 30 days.  I’ve also started drinking coffee more.  “Why?” you ask.

Well, it assists in continued movement in the intestinal region. But, so does being in a relationship.

            You don’t agree with me?

            Let me explain.

About a year ago a dear friend of mine pointed out to me that coffee and men play similar roles in my life. I’m stubborn about them. I don’t want to admit to others that I like them.  I don’t want them to “change” me. I don’t want to get too involved with them because I might have to invest more than I thought I would. And, lastly, they both assist in that whole continued movement in the intestinal region thing.

I’ve never really been interested in drinking coffee. Growing up, I thought you could only drink coffee if you were advanced in age and woke up before 6 a.m. As I grew older, I realized this was all a big lie, and in order to look cute on my college campus, I should drink coffee in a stylish travel mug and carry it with me everywhere.

Why would I do that, though? I’ve always liked being different, and I’ve always been the stubborn middle child. So, I made a decision: I will not drink coffee.

I’ve also never really been that interested in dating. Growing up, I was shy about sharing my feelings about a crush and didn’t really think any guy would be interested in me. But, as I grew older, I realized I really did want to date, and in order to make myself “available” I should be a little bit more expressive and engaging with a guy I’m interested in.

Why would I do that, though? I’ve always liked being different, and I’ve always been the stubborn middle child. So, I made a decision: I don’t need to date. At least not yet.

BREAKING THROUGH THE STUBBORNNESS 

Then, this coffee-drinking, good-looking, really holy man named Pete started liking me. Who does he think he is? I don’t like him, and I don’t like coffee. I had already made up my mind. Plus, he made me so nervous that I didn’t even need coffee to get things moving, if you know what I mean. Wink, wink.

Ah, but then, through the grace of God, and through many prayer times and chats with friends, I realized a little something: holy smokes, I do like Pete, and I might even like coffee. 

And holy smokes, not only do I like Pete, but I think I actually love him.  YIKES. I slowly began to understand that the reasons why I was hesitant to drink coffee were similar to the reasons why I was afraid to be in a relationship: it could change me. 

For so long, it had been easier for me to pretend like I didn’t want to date. I was afraid that if I actually put myself out there, if I actually let someone love me (really, really love me), and if I actually invested in something a little bit risky, I might… >>READ MORE

 

 

Leave a Reply

